A life time learner

I’ve learnt a few things about myself over the last few days.  Things I have always known, I guess, but never really admitted out loud… This is just another reason why writing helps.

Cue: meditative music that makes people nostalgic and reflective.

  • I fancy a 17 year old vampire. Being a school teacher this could be a taboo subject but it’s true… my only saving grace is that he is ‘really’ 145years old so that makes him fair game, right? (Or me fair game, since, theoretically vampires are predators….)
  • I get stressed out if I am not stressed out. We all know that being busy means you are important… And I am clearly very busy… hence very important… I digress: The point is –  I have organized a party that is happening this afternoon and it was easy. This morning I am worried that I am not worried or have not worried about the organization of the party itself. So stressful not being stressed.
  • I love the people in my neighborhood. A salutation and some kind of ‘wahoooo’ to the doorman on my way out, an exchange of words with the Indian fella promoting his restaurant next door, a high five with the doorman at the hotel on my way to the 7-11.  Ahhhh the 7-11: a multitude of things could happen here: The lady telling me ‘no ice-cream/coke/choccy bar/bottle water/insert any item of choice is bad for me’ or asking Anthony how he is today (NB: Anthony is never good) or even a massage…. Yep. Then I cross the road to get a coffee.  No need to order: a tall, fair-trade coffee is on the brew once they see me. I like it. The word community: means a lot to me.
  • I am a post it addict.  I don’t think this one needs explaining. Just visit my desk, or notepad, or either side of the inbuilt mouse on my laptop…
  • I impulse buy. On Thursday I bought apple TV… I was in the apple store- it looked cool. Not so impulsive, you say? Well, I don’t even have a TV. How bout them apples? (Excuse the pun: Apples… vs Apple- get it?)

Always such a joyous journey reflecting.
Off to my non stressful party now that has made me stress about not being stressed.

Happy Saturday peeps.
Cb

2 thoughts on “A life time learner

Leave a comment